QPR Report Twitter Feed

Wednesday, December 19, 2007

Stan Bowles Wins For QPR and Brentford

In a PFA Poll of fans, fans of each club were asked to vote for the best player in their club's history. For QPR fans, the vote went to Stan Bowles. (For Brentford fans, the vote went to...Stan Bowles!) Besides Bowles, a few other clubs' fans chose a player with something of a QPR connection as their best all-time player: Dougie Freedman at Barnet; Trevor Francis at Birmingham; Devon White at Bristol Rovers; Don Rogers at Swindon; Ian Muir at Tranmere; Tony Currie at Sheffield United; Don Masson at Notts County.

Reuters: - Double honours for three footballers
(Reuters) - Alan Shearer, Stanley Matthews and Stan Bowles have been honoured in a poll by being voted the best player in the history of two different clubs.
The Professional Footballers Association (PFA) organised the nationwide poll as part of their centenary celebrations.
Shearer, who won the Premier League with Blackburn Rovers in 1995 and scored more goals for his hometown club Newcastle United than anyone else, was voted the best player in the history of both clubs.
Matthews, the first footballer to be knighted, led the way at Stoke City and Blackpool, where he won the FA Cup at the age of 38 in 1953.
Bowles, one of the most flamboyant players of the 1970s, was acclaimed the best by the fans of west London clubs Queens Park Rangers and Brentford. ..."Reuters

The Sun: SHEARER ... Blackburn and Newcastle hero
ALAN SHEARER has been honoured in a PFA poll voted for by the fans.
The ex-England skipper was voted the best player in the history of both Blackburn and Newcastle.
Shearer was one of only three stars to receive the top vote for two different clubs.
Supporters were asked to name their all-time favourite player from the club they follow.
Stanley Matthews was hailed by Stoke and Blackpool fans, while Stan Bowles was acclaimed by both QPR and Brentford.
Manchester United fans went back to the 50s by choosing Duncan Edwards, who tragically died in the Munich air crash.
But Arsenal and Chelsea went for modern day heroes by voting in Thierry Henry and Gianfranco Zola respectively.
Premier League clubs: Arsenal (Thierry Henry), Aston Villa (Paul McGrath), Birmingham (Trevor Francis), Blackburn (Alan Shearer), Bolton (Nat Lofthouse), Chelsea (Gianfranco Zola), Derby (Kevin Hector), Everton (Dixie Dean), Fulham (Johnny Haynes, Liverpool (Kenny Dalglish), Manchester City (Bert Trautmann), Manchester United (Duncan Edwards), Middlesbrough (Juninho), Newcastle (Alan Shearer), Portsmouth (Jimmy Dickinson), Reading (Robin Friday), Sunderland (Charlie Hurley), Tottenham (Jimmy Greaves), West Ham (Bobby Moore), Wigan (Arjen de Zeeuw) The Sun

THE CLUB-BY-CLUB LIST (according to the PFA)

Accrington Stanley Chris Grimshaw
Arsenal Thierry Henry
Aston Villa Paul McGrath
Barnet Dougie Freedman
Barnsley Neil Redfearn
Birmingham Trevor Francis
Blackburn Rovers Alan Shearer
Blackpool Stanley Matthews
Bolton Wanderers Nat Lofthouse
Boston Utd Paul Bastock
Bournemouth Ted Macdougall
Bradford City Stuart McCall
Brentford Stan Bowles
Brighton Peter Ward
Bristol City John Atyeo
Bristol Rovers Devon White
Burnley Jimmy McIlroy
Bury Chris Lucketti
Cambridge Utd Dion Dublin
Cardiff City Phil Dwyer
Carlisle Utd Hugh Mcilmoyle
Charlton Athletic Derek Hales
Chelsea Gianfranco Zola
Cheltenham Town Neil Grayson
Chester City Ian Rush
Chesterfield Ernie Moss
Colchester Karl Duguid
Coventry City Steve Ogrizovic
Crewe David Platt
Crystal Palace Ian Wright
Darlington Alan Walsh
Derby County Kevin Hector
Doncaster Rovers Alick Jeffrey
Everton Dixie Dean
Exeter Alan Banks
Fulham Johnny Haynes
Gillingham Andy Hessenthaler
Grimsby Town Matt Tees
Halifax Town Paul Stoneman
Hartlepool Utd Wattie Moore
Hereford Ronnie Radford
Huddersfield Town Dennis Law
Hull City Ken Wagstaff
Ipswich Town John Wark
Kidderminster Kim Casey
Leeds Utd Billy Bremner
Leicester City Steve Walsh
Leyton Orient Lawrie Cunningham
Lincoln City Alan Graver
Liverpool Kenny Dalglish
Luton Town Mick Harford
Macclesfield Sir John Askey
Man City Bert Trautman
Man Utd Duncan Edwards
Mansfield Town Ken Wagstaff
Middlesbrough Juninho
Millwall Teddy Sheringham
Newcastle Utd Alan Shearer
Northampton Joe Kiernan
Norwich City Kevin Keelan
Nottm Forest Stuart Pearce
Notts County Don Masson
Oldham Athletic Bert Lister
Oxford Utd John Aldridge
Peterborough Terry Bly
Plymouth Tommy Tynan
Port Vale Robbie Earle
Portsmouth Jimmy Dickinson
Preston NE Sir Tom Finney
QPR Stan Bowles
Reading Robin Friday
Rochdale Reg Jenkins
Rotherham Ronnie Moore
Rushden & Diamonds Paul Underwood
Scunthorpe Utd Jack Brownsword
Sheffield Utd Tony Currie
Sheffield Wed Chris Waddle
Shrewsbury Town Arthur Rowley
Southampton Matt Le Tissier
Southend Steve Tilson
Southport Eric Redrobe
Stockport Luke Beckett
Stoke City Stanley Matthews
Sunderland Charlie Hurley
Swansea City Ivor Alvchurch
Swindon Don Rogers
Torquay Robin Stubbs
Tottenham Jimmy Greaves
Tranmere Rovers Ian Muir
Walsall Alan Buckley
Watford John Barnes
West Brom Tony Brown
West Ham Bobby Moore
Wigan Athletic Arjen de Zeeuw
Wimbledon Dave Beasant
Wolves Steve Bull
Wrexham Joey Jones
Wycombe W Dave Carroll
Yeovil Town Terry Skiverton
York City Barry Jackson


Blog Archive